Naples AE Report

Physics and Engineering Section

Sept. 24-26, 2008

Laszlo P. Csernai, Roger Elliott, Karl-Heinz Glassmeier, 
Alex C. Hoffmann, Peter Neumann, Ivo Slaus, Vitauts Tamuzs,
Jan S. Vaagen, Ionel Valentin Vlad, Bernard Veltman, 
Denis Weaire

A brief section meeting was arranged on Thursday between 14:00 - 15:00. 
As the AGM started later, not all participating section members were present
at the section meeting.

 The section meeting discussed the following points:

  - New members: 32 new members were appointed as new MAEs in 2009, 
    Most of them through the president's list.   

  - Membership Nominations: Deadline for the nominations
    to reach the section-committee/section-chair is end of October, 2009.
    The Section Committee will review and rank the nominations during
    November 2009. The section has already a few complete nominations,
    and a number of incomplete nominations from the president's list,
    which did not have satisfactory information so, these were not passed
    by Council.

  - Section Committee: Two members of the Section Committee, 
    Robert Dautray and Norbert Kroo will retire at the end of the year
    as their terms (2 x 3 years) will expire.   My (Laszlo P. Csernai) first
    term as Section Chair is completed also at the end of 2009. I am ready
    to continue for another term if the Section approves it.
    Nominations for two new section committee members and for section chair are
    welcome by the end of October, 2009. The Section will elect new committee
    members and eventually new chair (via email) in November. 

Naples, September 25th, 2009
Laszlo P. Csernai